A Guide to Unemployment Benefits in Texas TX

Determine if you are eligible for Texas unemployment benefits here. 

The Texas Workforce Commission (TWC) is the state agency that administers TX unemployment benefits for citizens who are out of work or partially out of work through no fault of their own. 

In Texas, unemployment insurance (UI) is a partnership between the federal and state governments.  At the federal level, the U.S. Department of Labor oversees the UI program.  At the state level, the Senate Committee on Economic Development and the House Economic Development and Small Business Development Committee oversee the UI program.

The payment of  Texas unemployment benefits is funded by employers who contribute taxes that pay for UI benefits.  The U.S. Department of Labor allocates funds from the Federal Unemployment Tax Act that pays for operational and administrative costs.  The Texas Unemployment Tax Act, Social Security regulations and other state and federal laws govern Texas’s unemployment benefits program.

To be eligible for Texas unemployment benefits, unemployed workers must meet certain standards and qualifications.

How Unemployment Works in Texas

And How To Get Unemployment in Texas

  1. Just like any other state, apply for Texas unemployment as soon as you lose your job, so long as you've become unemployed through no fault of your own. This can be done in-person, over the phone, or online through the Texas unemployment website.
  2. You are eligible to receive up to $454 per week, for up to 26 weeks if you meet Texas unemployment qualifications. The specific Texas unemployment amount you recieve will be based on your previous earnings.
  3. To maintain Texas unemployment eligibility, you must register with the state's work search program. This program will help you find new jobs in your field.
  4. Each week, you will be required to submit a Texas unemployment weekly claim to show that you are searching for a new job. This filing can be done online or over the phone, and is required to receive compensation.
  5. In situations where you file Texas unemployment applications but are denied, or you somehow lose your benefits, you have the legal right to appeal this decision. A hearing will take place over the phone, though you can visit any number of Texas unemployment office locations to learn more about your situation.

How do Texas unemployment benefits work?

As you read through this guide, you should know and understand what the following terms are:

  • Unemployment Base period – The base period is the earliest of four of five complete calendar quarters before you filed your benefits claim. 
  • Benefit week – Benefits are paid for calendar weeks of unemployment.  Benefit weeks start on Sunday and end on Saturday.
  • EUC - Emergency Unemployment Compensation is paid to claimants who qualify after their original 26 weeks of receiving benefits expires.
  • FUTA – The Federal Unemployment Tax Act…funds are allocated from this act and given to the state of Texas unemployment department to pay for administrative and operational costs associated with managing the unemployment benefits program.
  • RIF – reduction-in-force is another way of saying “laid off” or “downsized” at your job.
  • TWC – The Texas Workforce Commission.  It is the state agency that administers the unemployment insurance benefits program in the state.
  • UI – Unemployment Insurance.  It is another name for the benefits paid to Texas citizens who qualify to collect them.
  • Unemployment Benefits Extension - Some workers may qualify for an unemployment benefits extension depending on the timing of the file of their claim.
  • Waiting week – This is a qualifying period required by law in which benefits are not paid for the week and generally occurs during the first week you file your claim.

What are the requirements to qualify for unemployment benefits?

To meet Texas unemployment benefits eligibility, you must meet three requirements:

  1. You must be unemployed through no fault of your own, and within the guidelines as defined by Texas law.  Those guidelines include situations such as losing your job in a reduction-in-force action, or you are let go due to a downturn in the economy or at a particular employer. 
  2. Your past earnings must meet minimum amounts within your given base period. Texas is much like most other states that require that you earned a specified minimum amount during your base period for unemployment to make sure you are eligible for unemployment benefits.  You must be able to show that you earned wages in at least two of the four calendar quarters that make up your base period.  In addition, your earnings for the entire unemployment base period must be at least 37 times your weekly benefit amount.
  3. You must be ready, willing and available to work.  If you are offered a suitable position based on your past work history, qualifications and skills, you must accept the position or run the risk of losing your benefits.  As part of your availability to work, you must register with a state Workforce Center, either in person or online.  After you register, you must make a minimum number of job search contacts each week and record those efforts through a Texas unemployment weekly claim.  You will need these records when you are asked to verify your efforts, which could happen at any time. These Texas unemployment weekly claims ensure you will continue receiving your benefits.

Check Your Eligibility

Absolutely RISK-FREE & Confidential Evaluation!

I acknowledge and understand that by submitting this Contact Request form through clicking "Check Eligibility!", I provide my express consent to the following: (1) That I am bound by Eligibility.com LLC’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use; (2) That I am not required to submit this form, and thereby agree to all terms located herein, as a condition to receive any property, goods, or services that may be offered, and that I may revoke my consent at any time.

Why your Texas unemployment claim may be denied.

You may not be able to collect unemployment insurance benefits in Texas if:

  • You were fired for job related misconduct that includes violating company policies, violating the law or failing to do your job when you were able to do so. 
  • You quit your job.  To remain eligible, you need to have a good reason for doing so.  This may be due to employer misconduct, engaging in illegal activities, or being asked to do something that is morally or ethically wrong.  You may also use domestic violence or stalking as a reason that you left your job, and still be able to collect benefits.
  • You do not have adequate documentation that explicitly spells out your reason for not continuing with your employer.  To help justify your claim, you may need to produce a doctor’s note, a restraining order, or other similar documentation that supports your claim for not continuing to work. 
  • You quit because of a spouse’s job transfer, unless your spouse is in the military, in which case you may be eligible for benefits immediately. 

Were you denied for Texas unemployment? Contact a Texas unemployment office for more information about how to appeal or to find out how to reinstate your benefits.

How much unemployment benefits do I qualify for? How much will my weekly check be?

Texas unemployment benefits are determined by the amount of wages you earn during your base period.  Base periods are the first four of the last five completed calendar quarters immediately before the beginning of your benefit year.  If you successfully meet Texas unemployment requirements, your benefit payments will be based on these base periods.

In some instances, you will not have enough wages to qualify for TX unemployment benefits.  This may be because you were sick, pregnant, were a full-time caregiver for an ill relative, or you were injured, among other reasons.  When this happens, you may be able to use an alternate base period that uses your earnings history before you were unable to work.

Combining unemployment benefits with social security benefits is also a common issue that depends on your age, work history, and disability status.

If your benefit year begins:Your base period will be:Your alternate base period will be:
This year betweenJanuary 1 and March 31Last year betweenJanuary 1 and September 30 and the year before between October 1 and December 31Last yearbetween January 1and December 31
This year betweenApril 1 and June 30Last year betweenJanuary 1 and December 31Last year betweenApril 1 and December 31 and this year between January 1 and March 31
This year betweenJuly 1 and September 30Last year betweenApril 1 and December 31 and this year between January 1 and June 30Last year betweenJuly 1 and December 31And this year between January 1 and June 30
This year betweenOctober 1 and December 31Last year betweenJuly 1 and December 31and this year between January 1 and June 30Last year betweenOctober 1 and December 31 and this year between January 1 and September 30

Your weekly benefit amount is the total you earned in your highest quarter divided by 25.  The current weekly maximum amount is currently capped at $454. 

If you are still unemployed at the end of a 26-week benefit period and your regular state benefits run out, you may be able to apply for Emergency Unemployment Compensation (EUC).  This program and other similar programs were enacted during the nationwide recession that took place in 2008.  They provide up to 47 additional weeks of benefits through a Texas unemployment extension, depending on when a person first became unemployed.

The Texas Workforce Commission has created an unemployment benefits calculator that will tell you whether or not you are entitled to receive benefits, and how much those benefits may be.  To access it, go here

You may be able to claim some benefits if you work less than full-time in a quarter.  If this is the case, you will be asked to estimate your monthly or quarterly wages when you use the calculator provided by the Workforce Commission.

If you go back to work, you MUST report your change in status to the Texas Workforce Commission.  Failure to do so could result in disqualification for future benefits, or a request that the funds you collected be refunded to the state.

Where to apply for Texas Unemployment

 To apply for Texas UI benefits, you will need the following information:

  • Your last employer’s name and address
  • The first and last dates you worked for your employer
  • The number of hours and pay rate for the work you performed in the current week (this will be used to determine your Texas unemployment rate)
  • Information related to your normal wage
  • If you are not a U.S. citizen or U.S. national, you will need an Alien Registration Number
  • Your Social Security Number
  • Any military employment information, if applicable.

The Texas Workforce Commission has created a tutorial that will assist applicants who want to apply online.  To access the tutorial, go here.  It will contain the link you need to access to apply on line as well as give you step-by-step instructions to complete your application.

As part of your application process, you will need to complete a work search registration.  To do so, go to WorkinTexas.com and complete that application process as well. 

If you want to apply over the phone, you can call an unemployment benefits Tele-Center, M-F from 8 am to 6 pm, Central Time.  The phone number is 800-939-6631.

No matter how you apply, make sure your information is accurate.  Supplying wrong or misleading information can create a delay in receiving benefits, and in some cases, you may be subject to prosecution if you knowingly falsify information.  Penalties can include fines, jail time and the implementation of penalty weeks that will make you ineligible for benefits during that time. 

Check Your Eligibility

Absolutely RISK-FREE & Confidential Evaluation!

I acknowledge and understand that by submitting this Contact Request form through clicking "Check Eligibility!", I provide my express consent to the following: (1) That I am bound by Eligibility.com LLC’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use; (2) That I am not required to submit this form, and thereby agree to all terms located herein, as a condition to receive any property, goods, or services that may be offered, and that I may revoke my consent at any time.

When and how will my unemployment be paid?

After you are enrolled to receive UI benefits, you will need to request payment to receive your benefits.  Initially, this will happen one to two weeks after you apply, and then in two-week intervals after that time.  If you do not request payment within the calendar week that your request is due, your benefit payments may be denied.

When you request payment, you will be asked several questions about your job search, earnings and whether or not you met all requirements for eligibility during your claim period.  If you earned any wages, you must report them as well.  As a final step, you will be asked to certify that your answers are true and correct. 

Your first payment will make it’s way to you approximately four weeks after you initially apply.  Your first payment will also only be for one week’s worth of benefits, because your first week of enrollment is a “waiting week”.

Benefits are paid for calendar weeks that begin on Sunday and end on Saturday.  You may choose to receive benefits through direct deposit, which is a free service that allows the WTC to deposit unemployment benefits directly into your personal checking or savings account.  This service is good at any U.S. bank or credit union. 

You can sign up for direct deposit online at Unemployment Benefits Services.  Select Payment Option from the Quick Links menu.  You can also sign up using the WTC automated phone system at 800-558-8321 and select Option 5.

If you do not choose direct deposit, you will be issued a debit card, and your funds will be loaded onto the debit card at regular payment intervals.

Remember, failing to keep up with Texas unemployment claim filing could lead to your benefits being terminated. 

What to do to appeal your Texas unemployment claim if it is denied.

If your Texas unemployment application is denied, you have the right to appeal that decision.  To do so, you can request a hearing, in writing, within 14 days after you receive a Determination Notice. Texas unemployment laws guarantee you this right.

After you submit an appeal request, the TWC will schedule a hearing and send you additional information to help you prepare for it.  Most hearings are conducted by phone, and after the hearing is completed, a hearing officer will rule on your case and mail you a decision.

If you are still denied, you can file an appeal to three commissioners of the TWC.  Your evidence will be reviewed and send you a written decision.  If you are still denied benefits, you can request a rehearing or file a court appeal.

Unemployment Benefits in Other States

If you worked or resided in another state in addition to Texas, you may be able to file a claim in that state.  Find your state below.

More information on state of Texas unemployment claims and processes

For more information on unemployment benefits in Texas, use the following contact information

 Texas Workforce Commission Home Page

Application for Texas Unemployment Insurance benefits

Job Search Registration:  www.WorkinTexas.com  This is also a good source of information for job postings for employers who are interested in hiring veterans.

TWC FAQ page

To request payment for weeks of unemployment, get payment information, or check on the status of your claim, call the Texas unemployment phone number (WTC Tele-Serv) at 800-558-8321.

Tele-Serv en Espanol:  800-939-6631

You can also call the Texas unemployment number to contact the Texas Workforce Commission at its main office: 512-463-2222.

TWC Ombudsman:  800-628-5115.