Your Rights Under the American With Disabilities Act – Part 2

Eligibility Team
Researcher & Writer
April 29, 2016

The Americans with Disabilities Act was passed by Congress to make discrimination based on disability illegal. It has four main components, or Titles, that lay out specific guidelines for compliance with the ADA. Titles I and II deal with Employment and State and Local Government Activities/Public Transportation.

ADA Title III – Public Accommodations

Of all the Titles, this one is the most far ranging, impacting more people on a day-to-day basis than any of the others. Title III refers to public accommodations and states that businesses and nonprofits must offer physical access to goods and services that prohibit disabled people from being excluded, segregated or being subjected to unequal treatment in any way, shape or form.

Public accommodations include the owners and operators of just about every public entity including restaurants, retail stores, gas stations, hotels, doctor’s offices, movie theatres, homeless shelters, office buildings, libraries, and recreation facilities, among many others. In all, it is estimated that Title III covers more than five million private and public establishments. One notable exception is that religious organizations, including churches, synagogues or other places of worship, are not covered. In addition, state and local governments are not covered by Title III, but they are covered by ADA Title II.

ADA Title IV – Telecommunications

Title IV deals with television and telephone access for individuals with speech and hearing disabilities. It ensures that people with disabilities have access to services such as cell phones, call-waiting services and other related functions.

At the time it was enacted, Title IV required telephone companies to establish telecommunications relay services so that callers with speech or hearing disabilities who use text telephones (TTY’s or TDD’s) could communicate with each other.

Title IV also requires closed captioning for public service announcements funded by the Federal government.

The Federal Communications Commission (FCC) enforces Title IV and handles complaints through its website here or by calling (888) 225-5322 (voice) or (888) 835-5322 (TTY).

Eligibility Team
Written by
Eligibility Team
We are a team of experts dedicated to finding the right government programs for you. Our mission is simple: help people quickly and easily understand which programs they might be eligible for—all in one place. Our team is dedicated to researching and providing you with the most relevant information. We compile only the most trusted information from government sources into one place so you can find the facts you need and skip what you don’t.
Related Articles
Blue Cross Blue Shield Medicare Advantage Review
Blue Cross Blue Shield (BCBS) offers a large variety of Medicare Advantage (MA) plans in...
Invalid image
Aetna Medicare Advantage Review
As one of the largest healthcare providers in the country, Aetna serves an estimated 37.9...
Invalid image
Amerigroup Medicare Advantage Review
Handfuls of benefits and a variety of SNPs could assist residents of select states. Amerigroup...