An Overview of Section 8 Housing in North Carolina

Eligibility Team
Researcher & Writer
December 13, 2017

The North Carolina Section 8 Housing Voucher Program helps lower-income residents and families find affordable housing in  the state of North Carolina. Section 8 housing lists are open at  different times depending on your city.

Section 8 Eligibility in North Carolina


Eligibility  for the North Carolina Section 8 program depends largely on income. In  this case, low-income means less than 30% of the state median income.  Based on the latest information available, the median income for a  family of four in North Carolina is $72,830. That means the eligibility  cut-off is around $21,800.


Section  8 applicants must be either US citizens or naturalized aliens resident  in the state of North Carolina. Only one person in the household needs  to meet this requirement for eligibility.


Unlike  the citizenship requirement, all members of the household have to pass  the criminal background requirements. If anyone in the household has a  drug or sexual offense charge, eligibility will not be met. Other  criminal charges are taken on a case by case basis.


If  you have been evicted from Section 8 housing, you will lose your  eligibility until 3 years have passed. After 3 years, you are free to  reapply.

How do I apply for Section 8 Housing in North Carolina?

For  the most part, you should be prepared to obtain a printed copy of the  application, fill it out by hand, and submit it to a PHA representative.  There are a few exceptions to this depending on the city. In some  cases, the process can be completed online. There is also a  pre-application form.

Because online resources are not available in most places, you need to apply in person at the local office. Here is a list of PHA contact information in North Carolina.

Note: It is crucial that you fill out every portion of the application  correctly. Errors and discrepancies can immediately disqualify you from  consideration. All required documents must be provided without  exception. The type of documents one might need is characterized by the  following:

  • ID
  • Verification of other government benefits
  • Current school transcripts
  • Birth certificates
  • Tax returns
  • Pay stubs
  • Verification of assets and debts
  • Social Security cards for all occupants
  • Proof of residency such as a utility bill

North Carolina Section 8 Landlord

If  you wish to rent to Section 8 Voucher holders, you will need to have  your property inspected by HUD authorities annually. Your rents must be  in accordance with local standards and cannot be inflated for Voucher  holders. Any such discriminatory practices are forbidden.

The  Section 8 landlord application is sometimes referred to as the Housing  Assistance Payment contract. The voucher recipient uses those vouchers  to pay a portion of the rent. Vouchers represent the state’s payment to  the landlord on behalf of the renter. The renter is responsible for the  remainder of the balance.

Should you decide to accept Section 8 vouchers,  you need to inform the local housing authority of your property’s  availability. It is also advisable to include mention that you accept  Section 8 vouchers in your advertising. You are not required to accept  an applicant just because they have Section 8 vouchers. You accept or  deny applications based on your current policies you use for any other  applicant.

Section 8 Waiting List North Carolina

There are  70 housing authorities in North Carolina. You need to apply to areas  with an open waiting list. These are the times when applications are  accepted. Waiting lists are only open for a few weeks at a time. There  are four waiting lists open indefinitely:

Piedmont Triad Regional Council

Raleigh Housing Authority

Twin Rivers Opportunities Inc.

Western Piedmont Council of Governments Regional Housing Authority

The following counties are served by these authorities:

Davie County, Surry County

Raleigh, Wake County, Garner +8 More

Pamlico County, Craven County, Jones County +25 More

Alexander County, Catawba County, Caldwell County +36 More

The  Charlotte Housing Authority waiting list has been closed since  September of 2014. Wilmington has been closed for slightly longer.  Orange County has only been closed since 2017. But many others have been  closed for between 1 and 2 years.

Best Practices for Receiving Your Section 8 Vouchers

It  bears repeating that the most important thing you can do is fill out  the application accurately and submit it in person so that you can ask  questions of an expert. Be aware of which counties are open, as there is  no guarantee of when other counties will become open. Be honest about  criminal records and let them work with you. And be sure to mention  anything like pregnancy or disability that would make you a priority  candidate.

Eligibility Team
Written by
Eligibility Team
We are a team of experts dedicated to finding the right government programs for you. Our mission is simple: help people quickly and easily understand which programs they might be eligible for—all in one place. Our team is dedicated to researching and providing you with the most relevant information. We compile only the most trusted information from government sources into one place so you can find the facts you need and skip what you don’t.
Related Articles
Blue Cross Blue Shield Medicare Advantage Review
Blue Cross Blue Shield (BCBS) offers a large variety of Medicare Advantage (MA) plans in...
Invalid image
Aetna Medicare Advantage Review
As one of the largest healthcare providers in the country, Aetna serves an estimated 37.9...
Invalid image
Amerigroup Medicare Advantage Review
Handfuls of benefits and a variety of SNPs could assist residents of select states. Amerigroup...